Skip to content »


Jeffrey Immelt, Toni Rembe, and Chief Justice E. Norman Veasey

DirectWomen Board Institute faculty includes CEOs, Directors, and search firm consultants. Additionally, many of our Board Institute alumnae and Sandra Day O'Connor Board Excellence Award honorees come back each year to share their experiences and advice with each new class. For a full listing of each year's faculty members, please refer to the 2016 Tribute Book2015 Tribute Book2014 Program Book, 2012 Program Book, 2011 Tribute Book, 2009 Tribute Book, 2008 Tribute Book, and 2007 Tribute Book. Past Board Institute faculty included:

Alan L. Beller
Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
Director, The Travelers Companies, Inc.
Rosemary T. Berkery*
Vice Chairman, UBS Wealth Management Americas
Chairman of UBS Bank USA
Director, Fluor Corporation
Robert C. Clark
Distinguished Service Professor and Austin Wakeman Scott Professor, Harvard Law School
Director, Time Warner Inc.
Director, Omnicom Group, Inc.
Trustee, TIAA
Betsy Z. Cohen^
Director and CEO, The Bancorp, Inc.
Director, Aetna, Inc.
Connie R. Collingsworth*
General Counsel and Secretary, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Director, Banner Corporation
Mary B. Cranston*^
Retired Senior Partner and Immediate Past Chair, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Director, Exponent, Inc.
Director, GrafTech International Ltd.
Director, International Rectifier Corporation
Director, Juniper Networks, Inc.
Director, Visa, Inc.
Julie H. Daum
North American Board and CEO Succession Practice Leader, Spencer Stuart
Janice Reals Ellig
Co-CEO, Chadick Ellig
E. Thames Fulton
Managing Director, Cook Associates, Inc.
Bonnie W. Gwin
Vice Chairman and Managing Partner, Board of Directors Practice, North America, Heidrick & Struggles
Ann Harlan*
Retired Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, The J.M. Smuckers Company
Director, The Gorman-Rupp Company
Fred Hassan
Partner and Managing Director, Warburg Pincus
Director, TimeWarner Inc.
Director, Valeant Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Mary Ann Hynes*
Senior Counsel, Dentons
Director, GHD Group Pty Ltd.
Jeffrey R. Immelt
Chairman and CEO, General Electric
Stasia Kelly*
Co-Managing Partner (Americas), DLA Piper LLP (US)
Director, Owens-Illinois, Inc.
Director, Huntington Ingalls Industries, Inc.
Ilene H. Lang
Former President & CEO, Senior Advisor, and Honorary Director, Catalyst Inc.
Janiece M. Longoria^
Partner, Ogden, Gibson, Broocks, Longoria & Hall, LLP
Director, CenterPoint Energy, Inc.
Commissioner, Port of Houston Authority
Deborah P. Majoras
Chief Legal Officer and Secretary, The Procter & Gamble Company
Director, Valero Energy Corp.
William McCracken
Retired CEO and Chairman, CA Technologies
Director, MDU Resources Group, Inc.
Aulana L. Peters^
Retired Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Director, 3M Company
Director, Deere & Company
Director, Northrop Grumman Corporation
Toni Rembe^
Retired Partner, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Retired Director, AT&T
Mark W. Sickles 
CEO, SuperOrg, Inc.
Chairman, NACD New Jersey
Christine J. Spadafor*
CEO, St. Jude's Ranch for Children
Founder, President and CEO, SpadaforClay Group, Inc.
Director, Boyd Gaming Corporation
Doreen A. Wright
Retired Chief Information Officer and Senior Vice President, Campbell Soup Company
Director, Crocs Inc.
Director, White Waves Food Company
* DirectWomen Board Institute Alumna
^ Sandra Day O'Connor Board Excellence Award Honoree

Success Stories

Ann Harlan

Ann joined the board of the Gorman-Rupp Company in 2009. Learn more

Deborah Golden

Deborah Golden joined the board of Midland States Bancorp, Inc. in 2015. Learn more

Kimberly Ellwanger

Kimberly joined the board of Heritage Financial Corporation and Heritage Bank in 2006. Learn more