Since 2007, DirectWomen has awarded the Sandra Day O'Connor Board Excellence Award to thirty-five inspiring women. Since 2015, DirectWomen has also presented the Corporate Diversity Award and the Distinguished Alumna Award. In 2017, the Mary Ann Jorgenson Board Empowerment Award was presented for the first time.

Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award

Annually, DirectWomen awards the Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award to women lawyers who have served with distinction as independent directors of public companies and have worked to advance the value of diversity in board positions. See our past honorees here.

Board Diversity Award

In 2015, DirectWomen proudly presented its first Board Diversity Awards to General Electric Company and The Procter & Gamble Company. The Award honors corporations that have served as leaders in the effort to achieve board diversity, as illustrated by the critical mass of women directors on their boards and their strong commitment to diversity in the boardroom, the C-Suite, and the company. Learn more about the Board Diversity Award here.

Distinguished Alumna Award

The Distinguished Alumna Award honors a DirectWomen Board Institute Alumna who exemplifies the talents and accomplishments of our Alumnae, and has joined at least one large corporate board since completing the Institute. Learn more about past winners here.

Mary Ann Jorgenson Board Empowerment Award

The Mary Ann Jorgenson Board Empowerment Award was created to celebrate the 10th Anniversary of DirectWomen and to honor the co-founder of DirectWomen for whom it is named. Learn about our first honoree here.

Selection Process

Learn about the selection process for the Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award, and find out how you can nominate a woman you admire.