Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award Luncheon

DirectWomen hosts the annual Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award Luncheon to honor those who have worked to advance the value of diversity on corporate boards. The 2022 Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award Luncheon was held on Friday, October 14, 2022, in New York City. 

Attending the Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award Luncheon not only supports DirectWomen’s mission of increasing the representation of women attorneys on corporate boards, but also provides an excellent opportunity for attendees to network with leading CEOs, directors, search firm executives, DirectWomen alumnae and honorees, and other prominent lawyers.

At the Luncheon, DirectWomen presents awards that celebrate diversity in the boardroom and excellence in board service. This year, DirectWomen presented the following awards to our distinguished 2022 honorees:

The Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award, presented to women lawyers who have served with distinction as directors of public companies and exemplify the manner in which Sandra Day O’Connor leads her life, paving new paths for the women who come after her, was presented to:

Mary L. Schapiro is the Vice Chair for Global Public Policy of Bloomberg, the global financial technology company that was founded in 1981. She has been at Bloomberg since October 2018, and also serves as a Special Advisor to the Founder and Chairman. Ms. Schapiro, who has had a distinguished career as a…Read More

The Ruth Bader Ginsburg Board Diversity Award, honoring a corporation that has served as a leader in the effort to achieve board diversity, as illustrated by the critical mass of women directors on their board and their strong commitment to diversity in the boardroom, was presented to:

DirectWomen is proud to present its 2022 Board Diversity Award to Hasbro, Inc. As of 2022, Hasbro, Inc.’s board includes seven women directors, one of whom holds a J.D. Four of Hasbro, Inc.’s 10-person senior management team are also women. The critical mass of women directors on the Hasbro, Inc. board illustrates the company’s strong commitment to diversity in the…Read More

The Distinguished Alumna Award, honoring a DirectWomen Board Institute Alumna who exemplifies the talents and accomplishments of our Alumnae and who has joined at least one large corporate board since completing the Institute, was presented to:

Kathleen Wilson-Thompson

Ms. Wilson-Thompson is the founder and operator of a human capital executive consulting firm, KWT, LLC with a client base of Fortune 50 companies. Ms. Wilson-Thompson is also an independent Board Director currently serving as a member of the Board of Directors for Tesla, McKesson Corporation and Wolverine Worldwide. She is a former Board Director for Vulcan Materials and Ashland…Read More

The Mary Ann Jorgenson Board Empowerment Award, presented to a lawyer who has advanced the goal of DirectWomen to prepare women attorneys for board service and to increase the number of women on the boards of public companies, was presented to:

Hillary A. Sale

Hillary Sale

Hillary A. Sale is a recognized expert in financial services, securities, crisis management, compliance, corporate governance, strategy, and leadership. She has been a member of the FINRA Board of Governors since 2016, where she Chairs the Regulatory Policy Committee and serves on the Executive, Nominating and Governance, Compensation, and Regulatory Operations Committees. She is also a member of the Advisory Board of Foundation Press, an educational publisher of scholarly books and the board of DirectWomen, a nonprofit focused on increasing the presence of women on public company…Read More

If you would like to sponsor DirectWomen and reserve a table for your firm or company for the 2023 Luncheon, please contact DirectWomen’s Executive Director, Shawn Taylor Kaminski, at [email protected] or 833.239.6636. Click here to see a list of current sponsors.

Past Honorees